Patience, flexibility, a spirit of adventure and a sense of humor

When investigating Fulbright awards I looked at the descriptions of a number of countries. Nepal had my favorite description by far.  The program overview describes how a scholar might not know what they will teach until just before classes start.

Then the best phrase: “Patience, flexibility, a spirit of adventure and a sense of humor are among the most important qualities required of Fulbright grantees in Nepal” (http://catalog.cies.org/).

Perhaps Fulbrights in Canada or some countries in Western Europe are easier, but I believe this sentence should be part of many a Fulbright program description.

As I readjust to life back in the U.S. I have pondered the long-term impact my Fulbright year will have on my life. My time abroad certainly assisted in my scholarship, with a potential long-term benefits in that area. My teaching is likely to effected as I bring a more global perspective into the classroom. I have a better understanding of the deep and important differences between people from different cultures as well as the similarities we have as human beings.

But more than anything I think the Fulbright has helped me develop the very qualities the Nepal Fulbright commission is looking for in their applicants: patience, flexibility, a spirit of adventure, and a sense of humor. Qualities we should all have in our approach to life.

Leave a comment