Permis de Sedere

At long last, I have received my residency permit! After applying for the permit (for details on that adventure see: https://romanianreflections.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/temporary-residence-permit/) I got a call that something went wrong with my picture and I needed to come back in. Romania is now using biometric data, so what I really went in to do was provide my fingerprints. I believe something in the message was lost in translation.

I was waiting for a message from immigration that the permit was ready. I never got one. Since it’s been almost a month and a half since my second picture and nearly 2 months since my first visit I decided to stop by and see what was up. Permits can only be picked up between 2 and 4:30, so I arrived at 2 and received number 4014. After a 45 minute wait, I went in, handed over my passport, and was delighted to have success! I should now have no trouble leaving and returning to Romania and I won’t have to carry my passport with me everywhere.

p.s. Line cutters–cutting in line is NOT ok. I have other things to do too. Number 4033, I am not happy to have to wait for you to do exactly what I came to do. Wait your turn! And don’t hide your number from the immigration officers pretending to have my number.

4 responses to “Permis de Sedere

  1. Yeah! I’m glad to see you can come and go with ease. Where will you go next?

  2. So glad to hear that you are legal. Such hassles you have to go through to get things!!

  3. Pingback: My Romanian Top Ten | Romanian Reflections

Leave a Reply

